Donate Now |  Email Signup |  Media Login |  Members Login |  Search

Moxley Carmichael Masterworks Series

Brahms & Rachmaninoff


TicketsThursday, September 20, 2018 - 7:30pm
please call 865-291-3310
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 7:30pm
please call 865-291-3310

Brahms & Rachmaninoff

This Masterworks performance opens the KSO’s 83rd season with the high-energy piece “Starburst” by contemporary composer Jonathan Leshnoff’s.  The work is then followed by a step into the Romantic period of Rachmaninoff’s “Piano Concerto No. 2” performed by the celebrated pianist Joyce Lang. Lang has performed at the renowned Lincoln Center in New York and will continue to take her talents to many stages this upcoming season. Music Director Aram Demirjian ends the night with Johannes Brahms’ “Symphony No. 1,” concluding a set that combines new music of today with the classics of the past. 

All students grades K-12 can attend this concert FREE with purchase of one adult ticket as part of the Penny4Arts program. Up to 3 students per adult ticket; some restrictions apply. Must redeem by visiting or calling the KSO Box Office at 865-291-3310 prior to the day of the concert (M-F, 9-5). Offer not available online or at the door. Questions:


Subscriptions to the Masterworks series are on sale now; single tickets will go on sale in August 2018.


Aram Demirjian, conductor

Joyce Yang, piano


Leshnoff: Starburst

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2

Brahms: Symphony No. 1


Joyce Yang