Donate Now |  Email Signup |  Media Login |  Members Login |  Search

Story Time Performances

KSO Library Story Time

 

  • In partnership with the Knox County Public Library and public libraries in nineteen upper East Tennessee counties
  • KSO string quartet visits library branches throughout the local community and East Tennessee
  • Combines children's literature with classical music, sound effects and hands-on learning
  • For pre-school aged children and their families
  • 2019-2020 program: Available in September
  • Books featured include: Available in September
  • Music featured includes: Available in September
  • Free and open to the public

2019 Library Story Time Schedule in Knox County Public Library Branches

Date

Time

Library

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

 10:15 AM  Bearden Branch Library

 Thursday, November 7, 2019

4:00 PM Cedar Bluff Branch Library

Friday, November 8, 2019

10:15 AM Fountain City Branch Library

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

4:00 PM Farragut Branch Library

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

10:00 AM Burlington Branch Library

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

11:00 AM Halls Branch Library

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

10:00 AM Murphy Branch Library

Thursday, December 5, 2019

4:00 PM Norwood Branch Library

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

10:30 AM Sequoyah Branch Library

Friday, December 13, 2019

10:30 AM Powell Branch Library

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

11:00 AM Karns Branch Library


2020 Library Story Time Schedule In KNOX AND SURROUNDING COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY BRANCHES

Date  Time Library

 Tuesday, January 7, 2020

10:30 AM  Oak Ridge Public Library

Thursday, January 9, 2020

10:30 AM  Howard Pinkston Public Library

 Wednesday, 29, 2020

10:30 AM

 Blaine Public Library

Friday, March 6, 2020

10:30 AM  Caryville Public Library

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

11:00 AM  Huntsville Public Library

Friday, March 13, 2020

11:00 AM Kodak Public Library

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

 10:45 AM Kingston Public Library

Friday, April 3, 2020

10:00 AM Church Hill Public Library

Thursday, April 23, 2020

1:00 PM Unicoi County Public Library

We would like to thank our  2019-2020 Library Story Time Sponsors:   

 

 For more information about the Story Time Program, please email the Director of Education & Community Partnerships.

 

BETTER THAN COOKIES, AS GOOD AS CAKE

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra published a children’s book about classical music written by KSO cellist Stacy Nickell Miller. Entitled Better Than Cookies, As Good As Cake, the book tells the story of a young girl who receives a violin. She finds that the sound that her violin makes, both alone and as part of a string quartet, is better than cookies and as good as cake. The characters in the book, illustrated by Stephen Brown, are loosely based on members of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra.

This book is available for purchase at Amazon.com.

Special thank you to Sam Furrow and Jim and Kay Clayton for making this project possible.