Donate Now |  Email Signup |  Media Login |  Members Login |  Search

Moxley Carmichael Masterworks Series

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4


TicketsThursday, January 22, 2015 - 7:30pmFriday, January 23, 2015 - 7:30pmShare

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Join the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra for the January Masterworks concert, featuring popular and triumphant music by Berlioz, Shostakovich, and Tchaikovsky!  Conducted by guest artist Lawrence Loh, the concert will begin with the exuberant Roman Carnival Overture from the opera Benvenuto Cellini by French composer, Hector Berlioz.  Next, the orchestra will be joined by Julie Albers for Dmitri Shostakovich’s haunting Cello Concerto No. 1.  The concerto begins with a four note-theme that Shostakovich called a ‘jocular march’, and later features beautiful folk lullabies, and a gorgeous extended cadenza.   The second half of the concert features the entire orchestra with Pyotr Illyich Tchaikovsky’s dramatic Symphony No. 4!  From the rousing opening fanfare to the energetic and triumphant themes of the final movement, the Symphony No. 4 is a powerful and captivating composition.

Tickets on sale now!

Lawrence Loh, conductor

Julie Albers, cello


BERLIOZ: Roman Carnival Overture

SHOSTAKOVICH: Concerto for Cello & Orchestra No. 1, Op. 107

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4


Lawrence Loh, guest conductor

Julie Albers, cello