Donate Now |  Email Signup |  Media Login |  Members Login |  Search

Story Time Performances

    

KSO Library Story Time

In partnership with the Knox County Public Library, KSO string quartets visit libraries throughout the community. Members of the quartet combine stories about music with classical selections, sound effects, and hands-on learning for pre-school aged children and their parents. Programs in public library branches are FREE and open to the public. In 2010, this program expanded to also serve pre-kindergarten students in Knox County Schools. The 2014-2015 program is “Fizz, Boom, Read!” Join KSO musicians as they explore how sounds come together to create music!  Stories included in this program are The Very Quiet Cricket, Boom Bah! and Rattletrap Car.

Fall 2014 Library Story Time Schedule


Date  Time Library
Tuesday, Nov. 4 10:30 a.m. Sequoyah Branch
Tuesday, Nov. 4 4:00 p.m. Farragut Branch
Friday, Nov. 7 10:15 a.m. Fountain City Branch
Wednesday, Nov. 12 11:00 a.m. Burlington Branch
Thursday, Nov. 13 11:00 a.m. North Knoxville Branch
Tuesday, Nov. 18 10:30 a.m. South Knox Branch
Wednesday, Nov. 19 10:15 a.m. Bearden Branch
Thursday, Nov. 20 10:30 a.m. Howard Pinkston Branch
Tuesday, Nov. 25 10:30 a.m. Murphy Branch
Wednesday, Dec. 3 11:00 a.m. Karns Branch
Friday, Dec. 5 10:30 a.m. Powell Branch
Wednesday, Dec. 10 10:30 a.m. Halls Branch
Thursday, Dec. 11 4:00 p.m. Norwood Branch
Wednesday, Dec. 17 11:00 a.m. Carter Branch
Thursday, Dec. 18 4:00 p.m. Cedar Bluff Branch

We would like to thank our  2014-2015 Library Story Time Sponsors:   

  

 


BETTER THAN COOKIES, AS GOOD AS CAKE

 (A children's book written by KSO cellist Stacy Nickell Miller and published by the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra)

 

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra published a children’s book about classical music written by KSO cellist Stacy Nickell Miller. Entitled Better Than Cookies, As Good As Cake, the book tells the story of a young girl who receives a violin. She finds that the sound that her violin makes, both alone and as part of a string quartet, is better than cookies and as good as cake. The characters in the book, illustrated by Stephen Brown, are loosely based on members of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra.

This book is available for purchase at Amazon.com and at Smart Toys and Books.

Special thank you to Sam Furrow and Jim and Kay Clayton for making this project possible.